Awards and Achievements 2016-2020

Best Poster Presentation 2017

Sushama Rokade, Ph D Scholar, Department of Innate Immunity, received Award for Best Poster Presentation for ‘ Surfactant Protein D regulates testicular immune privilege and contributes to male fertility ’ at the 27th Annual Meeting of the ISSRF and International Conference on Reproductive Health with Emphasis on Strategies for Infertility, Assisted Reproduction and Family Planning, ICMR, New Delhi during January 23 to 25, 2017.

Prof. N. J Chinoy Award 2017

Ms. Shubhangi Gavali PhD Scholar,Molecular Immunodiagnostics, was awarded First Prize – Prof. N. J Chinoy Award for her oral presentation titled – Lyn, a novel mediator of effect of estrogen on osteoclastogenesis? at the International Conference on Reproductive Biology and Comparative Endocrinology and 35th Annual Meeting of The Society for Reproductive Biology and Comparative Endocrinology, University of Hyderabad, February 9-11, 2017.

Best Poster Award

Ms. Kalyani Karandikar, PhD student, Division of Molecular Immunology and Microbiology, received the Best Poster Award for the work entitled, “Gut Dysbiosis in Infants with Human Cytomegalovirus (HCMV) Infection” at the 1st Genomics Analysis and Technology Conference, GATC 2017, held at VITS,Mumbai on 10th-11th February 2017.

Third prize in Oral presentation

3rd prize in Oral presentation for the topic ‘Role of Rab11a in Endometrial Adhesiveness and Cohesiveness’ at National Research Scholars Meet (NRSM) held at ACTREC, 14th and 15th December, 2017

Golden Jubilee award for research 2017

Dr. Ragini Kulkarni received the Golden Jubilee award for research from Association of Medical Women in India (AMWI) during National conference of AMWI on 16th December 2017 in Mumbai. The award is given for her work’ Nutritional status of Women and its link with Morbidity and Mortality.

Dr T.V.K. Satyanarayana Memorial Best Poster Award

Prashant Tapase, Sr. Technical Officer (1) presented a paper entitled “Differentials between SC/ST/NT, OBC and General Men about awareness of STIs and Cervical Cancer in Urban Slums of Mumbai” that has been selected for “Dr T.V.K. Satyanarayana Memorial Best Poster Award” at the 15 Annual Conference of the Indian Association for Social Sciences and Health (IASSH) held at National Institute of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj, Hyderabad during 16-18 November 2017.

CYTO Asia 2017-Travel Fellowship Award

Ms. Sukeshani Salwe Ph.D student, Division of Biochemistry & Virology received the CYTO Asia 2017-Travel Fellowship Award for presenting the work entitled Immune signatures for HIV-1 and HIV-2 induced CD4+T cell dysregulation in an Indian cohort at the CYTO Asia 2017 held at Singapore, October 25- 27, 2017.

International Travel Award

Ms. Kanchana Ayyar, Ph.D student, Division of Molecular Immunology & Microbiology received the Bill & Melinda Gates Travel Award for presenting the work entitled “Cross-talk of let-7f and C/EBPβ is Critical for the Maintenance of Immune Homeostasis in the Cervico-vaginal Mucosal Interfaceat the 18th International Congress of Mucosal Immunology (ICMI-2017) held at Washington DC, USA from 19th-22nd July, 2017.

Drs. Kunti & Om Prakash Oration Award 2012

Dr Smita D Mahale, Director received ‘Drs. Kunti & Om Prakash Oration Award for the year 2012’ on January 19, 2016 for her research work on “Understanding the molecular and cellular mechanisms involved in hormone binding and activation of follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) receptor”  which has led to the understanding of interaction of follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) with its receptor at molecular and cellular level.

Dr M.K. Seshadri Prize 2012

Dr Sanjay Chauhan, Scientist-F and Head, Department of Operational Research received the Dr M.K. Seshadri Prize for the year 2012 on January 19, 2016 for the Operational research work on reproductive health. Dr Chauhan coordinated the development of evidence-based “National Guidelines on prevention, management and control of reproductive tract infections (RTI) including sexually transmitted infections (STI)” and “Operational Guidelines for programme managers and service providers for strengthening STI/RTI services”.